Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Review: Though My Heart Is Torn by JoAnne Bischof

About the book:
Settling into a simple life in the majestic Blue Ridge mountains, Lonnie and Gideon O’Riley have finally found happiness after the rocky start to their marriage. The roguish bluegrass musician has fallen in love with his gentle wife and the God she serves, and Lonnie rests secure in his tenderness for her and their young son. A heartless ruse interrupts their peace, bringing them back to Rocky Knob—and forces them to face the claims of Cassie Allan, a woman who says she is Gideon’s rightful wife.
As Gideon wades into the depths of his past choices, Lonnie is stunned by the revelations. She has no choice but to navigate this new path, knowing that surviving the devastating blow will take every ounce of strength  she has.
While Gideon’s guilt  and his bitterness towards Cassie threatens to burn up his fledgling faith, Lonnie wrestles to find the courage to trust the God who brought them together in the first place. Will their hard-earned love be able to conquer all? 
Lonnie only wanted her husband’s love. Now that he belongs to another, can she surrender Gideon to a God with a bigger plan?

My Review
I loved Be Still My Soul,  book #1 in The Cadence of Grace Series. by Joanne Bischof and was excited to also review book #2, Though My Heart Is Torn.  Once again I was drawn quickly into the  story of Lonnie and Gideon.  I'll admit that at first I did not like the way the story continued but soon realized that God had a plan for this book and He used Joanne's talent as a writer to lead us "through the valley" He chose for the unforgettable  characters of Lonnie and Gideon.  It is always a joy to stand back and watch God work in the heart of a author to show us our way is not always His way.  I look forward to where God lead Joanne in the next book in this series.  This one is a keeper that I will read again. I give Though My Heart Is Torn 5 out of 5 stars. 

I received this book through Blogging For Book and Waterbrook/Multnomah for my honest review.
I was not paid for my review in any way. 

You can read the first chapter of Though My Heart Is Torn 

You can read my review of Be Still My Soul, book #1 in The Cadence of Grace Series here.
About the Author
Joanne Bischof Married to her first sweetheart, Joanne Bischof lives in the mountains of Southern California where she keeps busy making messes with their home-schooled children. When she’s not weaving Appalachian romance, she’s blogging about faith, writing, and the adventures of country living that bring her stories to life. Be Still My Soul is her first novel.
Joanne's website

You can purchase the book at the below links.

Review: Firefly Island by Lisa Wingate

Firefly Island 
Lisa Wingate

Mallory Hale's life quickly veers off course when she falls hopelessly in love. After a whirlwind romance, Mallory finds herself leaving the bustle and action of Capitol Hill for the remote town of Moses Lake, Texas--with husband, stepson, and a U-Haul in tow.
A sweet, mishap-filled journey into marriage, motherhood, and ranch living ensues, and Mallory is filled with both the wonderment of love and the insecurities of change. But what she can't shake is the unease she feels around her husband's new boss, Jack West. Jack's presence--and his mysterious past--set her on edge, and when hints of a scandal emerge, Mallory finds herself seeking answers . . . and comes to realize that the middle-of-nowhere home she wasn't sure she wanted is the very place she'll risk everything to save.

My Review:
Firefly Island was the first Lisa Wingate book I have had the pleasure of reading and will not be the last.  I loved Mallory and Daniel's love story. What comes next?  Total culture shock. You will have to read this highly entertaining book yourself to find out why. I have been in situations similar to Mallory, so found myself laughing out loud many times. I especially loved the growing relationship between Mallory and Nick. God does not take long to soften Mallory's heart to Nick. You will find Firefly Island a highly entertaining romance with a few mysteries to keep you guessing. Firefly Island is book #3 in the Moses Lake Series.  I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

I received the book from Bethany House Publishing for my honest review. I was not paid in any way.

You can purchase Firefly Island at these below locations:
Lisa Wingate website
Baker Publishing

Lisa Wingate is a popular inspirational speaker and national bestselling author of several books, including the ACFW Carol Award-winners Never Say Never and Dandelion Summer. Lisa and her family live in central Texas.

Review: A Cowboy at Heart by Lori Copeland

A Cowboy at Heat 
Lori Copeland and Virgina Smith

The Amish of Apple Grove #3

A Cowboy at Heart, an engaging Amish-meets-Wild West adventure from bestselling authors Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith, weaves a clever and romantic tale of new starts and second chances.
1886--Jesse Montgomery is beginning to feel restless. Though he's grateful to his friends Colin and Emma for helping him get on his feet again after a few bad choices and some hard living, surely the Lord doesn't want him to stay in Apple Grove forever. Doesn't the Almighty have plans for this reformed rowdy cowboy to build a life of his own?
When an unscrupulous cattle baron tries to steal Amish land, Jesse intervenes and is wounded. Lovely Katie Miller, the young healer in the district, attends to him while trying to guard her heart. This sweet Amish widow cannot risk falling in love with an Englisch cowboy, charming though he may be. And yet--she believes God has a life for her too that is more than what she can presently see. Could there be a future with Jesse only He could bring about?

My Review:
 I highly recommend, A Cowboy at Heart, book #3  in the The Amish of Apple Grove series.
I loved the ending because it was unique and did not end like I thought is would.  No spoilers from
me you will have to read it.  Fans of Amish fiction will love this one. I look forward to reading the first two books in this series.
I give A Cowboy at  Heart 4 out of 5 stars. 

I recieved this book from Net Galley and Harvest House Publishers for my honest review.

 Lori Copeland


 Virginia Smith

You can read more about Lori and Virginia here.

You may purchase this book at the below links: